Fitness, Running and Nutrition Forum  

Go Back   Fitness, Running and Nutrition Forum > AthleticRunner > Injuries
Register FAQ VB Image Host Auctions Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Have an injury and need some support? Wondering what your injury could be but not sure? Talk about any running related injuries in here.

Old 01-01-2009, 06:53 PM   #1
runnergirl75
Unheard

My Photos: ()
runnergirl75 is an unknown quantity at this point
Sharp shooting knee pain...

Hello! I am new to this forum - I am hoping someone on here has either experienced what I am experiencing or can help me to figure out what it is. First, a little background... I have been running consistently for about 10 years now. In those 10 years, I have run 11 marathons and 2 ultra marathons plus numerous half marathons, 10Ks and 5Ks. I have really cut back my racing in the last 2 years but I did just complete another marathon at the end of November - my first marathon in over 2 years. On a normal basis, I usually keep my mileage around 20-30 miles/week.

Now to the issue....for the last few weeks, I have been experiencing a sharp shooting pain in my left knee about 1 mile into my run. It happens almost like clockwork anywhere from 1 to 1.25 miles into my run. I may feel it once or I may feel it a few times before it disappears completely and I am able to finish my run pain free. The pain is excruciating but it is also instant - it is like a sharp flash of pain around the outside of my knee cap. If I am on the treadmill, it causes me to grab the bar to keep me from falling. If I am outside, I usually have to take all of the pressure off of that leg or stop for a second then am able to keep going. I also sometimes feel the pain when I am not running, like when I go to sit down or walk up stairs.

Has anyone else ever experienced this or know what it may be?

Thanks!!
runnergirl75 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2009, 01:21 PM   #2
egorace
Shy